facebooktwitterflickren


 

Jon Rafman, 3081 Valmont Road, Boulder, Colorado, USA, 2012, from the series The Nine Eyes of Google Street View (2008–ongoing). Courtesy of the artist; galerie antoine ertaskiran, Montreal; Zach Feuer Gallery, New York; and Seventeen Gallery, London © Jon Rafman

JON RAFMAN
Québec, Canada

Jon Rafman belongs to a small group of artists who base their work on the large Google Street View archive and image repository. The title of his series, The Nine Eyes of Google Street View (2008–ongoing), makes direct reference to the nine cameras mounted on each hybrid electric car sent by Google Maps to chart the world. Rafman selects images of weird events captured by the seemingly impartial automatic camera while on the road. The results thus generated are bewildering photographs that question any rational understanding of the world. As also seen in his video You, the World and I (2011), the everyday becomes mysterious, disorienting, and very strange.

Jon Rafman was born in 1981 in Montreal, where he continues to live and to work as a filmmaker and artist. After receiving a BA in philosophy and literature at McGill University in 2004, he obtained an MFA at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago in 2008. His works have been featured in exhibitions worldwide, including at the Contact Photo Festival (2012) and the Museum of Contemporary Canadian Art (2012) in Toronto, Les Rencontres d’Arles (2011), the New Museum in New York (2010), the Museum of Contemporary Art of Rome (2010), and the Ars Electronica Festival in Linz (2010). Rafman is represented by the Zach Feuer Gallery in New York, galerie antoine ertaskiran in Montreal, Seventeen Gallery in London, and M+B Gallery in Los Angeles.

www.jonrafman.com

MAISON DE LA CULTURE MARIE-UGUAY
6052 Monk Boulevard | 514.872.2044
Sept. 6 – Oct. 6 | Tuesday and Wednesday 1 pm to 7 pm, Thursday 1 pm to 6 pm,
Friday to Sunday 1 pm to 5 pm
Opening Thursday, Sept. 5 at 4 pm (meet the artist)

MAKE ART PUBLIC
Public space interventions on 14 backlit panels all along Monk Boulevard between Monk métro station and
St-Patrick Street. To download the map of the itinerary, click here

Podcast: Jon Rafman on Monk blvd.

Designed for visitors who wish to make their way at their own pace along Monk Blvd. and discover the works of Canadian artist Jon Rafman. The podcast consists of comments by the artist on his works and commentary by the curator on the theme. You can download the podcast on your MP3 player or your smartphone (Price: $5).

Eventbrite - Podcast Jon Rafman

facebooktwitterflickren


 

Jon Rafman, 3081 Valmont Road, Boulder, Colorado, É.-U., 2012, de la série The Nine Eyes of Google Street View (2008- ). Avec l’aimable autorisation de l’artiste; de la galerie antoine ertaskiran, Montréal; de la Zach Feuer Gallery, New York; et de la Seventeen Gallery, Londres © Jon Rafman

JON RAFMAN
Québec, Canada

Jon Rafman fait partie d’un noyau d’artistes qui créent à partir d’archives de Google Street View et de fonds d’images. Le titre de sa série The Nine Eyes of Google Street View (2008- ) fait directement allusion aux neuf caméras installées sur chaque véhicule hybride envoyé par Google Maps pour répertorier le monde. Rafman choisit des images d’évènements bizarres captés en cours de route par l’appareil automatique soi-disant impartial. Les résultats ainsi obtenus donnent des photographies troublantes qui défient toute compréhension rationnelle du monde. Tout comme dans la vidéo You, the World and I (2011), le quotidien devient mystérieux, déstabilisant et étrange.

Jon Rafman est né en 1981 à Montréal, où il vit et travaille toujours en tant que cinéaste et artiste. Après avoir reçu un baccalauréat ès arts en philosophie et en littérature de l’Université McGill en 2004, il a obtenu une maîtrise en arts visuels de la School of the Art Institute of Chicago en 2008. Ses œuvres ont été exposées à travers le monde, entre autres, au Contact Photo Festival (2012) et au Museum of Contemporary Canadian Art (2012), à Toronto; aux Rencontres d’Arles (2011); au New Museum à New York (2010); au Musée d’art contemporain de Rome (2010); et au festival Ars Electronica de Linz, en Autriche (2010). Rafman est représenté par la Zach Feuer Gallery à New York, la galerie antoine ertaskiran à Montréal, la Seventeen Gallery à Londres et la M+B Gallery à Los Angeles.

www.jonrafman.com

MAISON DE LA CULTURE MARIE-UGUAY
6052, boulevard Monk | 514.872.2044
6 sept. – 6 oct. | mardi et mercredi 13 h à 19 h, jeudi 13 h à 18 h, vendredi au dimanche 13 h à 17 h
Vernissage jeudi 5 sept. à 16 h (en présence de l'artiste)


MOUVEMENT ART PUBLIC
Interventions publiques extérieures sur 14 panneaux rétroéclairés le long du boulevard Monk, entre le métro Monk et la rue St-Patrick. Pour télécharger la carte du parcours, cliquez ici

Baladodiffusion : Jon Rafman sur le boul. Monk

Conçue pour les visiteurs qui souhaitent faire l’expérience du parcours sur le boulevard Monk et découvrir les œuvres de l'artiste canadien Jon Rafman à leur propre rythme. La baladodiffusion comprend des commentaires de l’artiste sur ses œuvres et un commentaire du commissaire sur la thématique. La baladodiffusion peut être téléchargée sur votre lecteur MP3 ou votre téléphone intelligent par le biais de notre site Web (Coût : 5 $).

Eventbrite - Balado Jon Rafman